Home | deutsch  | Legals | Sitemap | KIT

Research at IMK-ASF

The Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research (IMK) - Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing (ASF) is one of the world’s leading institutes in the development of novel instruments and methods for atmospheric remote-sensing and in the analysis and interpretation of the measured data.

The IMK-ASF has played since many years a leading role in atmospheric Fourier-transform spectrometry, as in the development of the MIPAS ("Michelson Interferometer for Passive Atmospheric Sounding") satellite instrument, that is also employed in balloon- and aircraft-borne versions for dedicated measurement campaigns. Ground-based Fourier-transform spectrometry and microwave radiometers are operated in Kiruna (Sweden), Izana (Tenerife), Karlsruhe (Germany), Addis Abeba (Ethiopia) and Merida (Venezuela), partly in frame of the NDACC ("Network for Detection of Atmospheric Composition Change"). The experience of IMK-ASF in the development and characterisation of novel instrumentation has lead to the construction of the first Limb emission spectrometer using a two-dimensional detector array (GLORIA-AB aboard the high-altitude aircraft HALO) that also provides the instrumental basis for the new satellite projects PREMIER and MTG-IRS.

For the analysis of satellite data, the program package KOPRA and the associated retrieval code RCP (Retrieval Control Program) were developed at IMK-ASF, and the programs PROFITT and LINEFIT for the analysis of ground-based measurements. Furthermore, at IMK-ASF new methods are developed for the analysis and validation of operational satellite products (as for example in the Land-SAF). In-situ measurements on board of aircrafts (CARIBIC, HALO) are used to obtain highly spatially resolved data in the tropopause region. The numerical atmospheric models KASIMA and ECHAM/MESSy are indispensable for interpretation of the data from the various observing platforms (ground-based, aircrafts, balloons, satellites).

Particular highlights can be found on the pages of the different research groups, as well as on our homepage (see news). Many details are also provided in the publications of IMK-ASF.

Research Groups

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Forschung am IMK-ASF

Das Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung (IMK) - Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung (ASF) ist weltweit führend auf dem Gebiet der Entwicklung neuartiger Instrumente und Methoden zur Atmosphärenfernerkundung sowie bei der Analyse und Interpretation der damit gewonnen Messdaten.

Das IMK-ASF spielt seit vielen Jahren eine herausragende Rolle in der atmosphärischen Fourier-Transform-Spektrometrie, wie bei der Entwicklung des MIPAS ("Michelson Interferometer for Passive Atmospheric Sounding") Satellitengeräts, das auch in Ballon- und Flugzeug-Versionen für Messkampagnen eingesetzt wird. Bodengestützte Fourier-Transform-Spektrometer und Mikrowellen-Radiometer werden in Kiruna (Schweden), Izana (Teneriffa), Karlsruhe (Deutschland), Addis Abeba (Äthiopien) und Merida (Venezuela) betrieben, auch im Rahmen des NDACC ("Network for Detection of Atmospheric Composition Change"). Die am IMK-ASF vorhandene Erfahrung mit der Entwicklung und Charakterisierung neuartiger Instrumente wurde beim Bau des ersten Limb-Emissions-Spektrometers mit einem zweidimensionalen Detektor-Array eingesetzt (GLORIA-AB auf dem Höhenflugzeug HALO) wodurch wesentliche Grundlagen für die neuen Satellitenprojekte PREMIER und MTG-IRS geliefert werden.

Für die Auswertung der Satellitendaten wurden das Programm KOPRA sowie der dazugehörige Retrieval-Code RCP ("Retrieval Control Program") entwickelt, wie auch die Programme PROFITT und LINEFIT für die Auswertung der bodengestützten Messungen, sowie neue Methoden zur Auswertung und Validation operationeller Satellitenprodukte (zum Beispiel in der Land-SAF). In-situ Messungen an Bord von Flugzeugen (CARIBIC, HALO) werden benutzt um räumlich hochaufgelöste Daten in der Tropopausenregion zu gewinnen. Die numerischen Atmosphärenmodelle KASIMA und ECHAM/MESSy sind unentbehrlich für die Interpretation der Messdaten von den verschiedenen Beobachtungsplattformen (Bodenstationen, Flugzeuge, Ballons, Satelliten).

Besonders herausragende Ergebnisse sind auf den Seiten der einzelnen Gruppen zu finden, sowie auf unser Homepage (siehe News). Viele detaillierte Informationen sind in den Publikationen der einzelnen Gruppen enthalten.

Forschungsgruppen