Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research

Impact of stellar variability on the atmospheres of Earth-like exoplanets

Similar to the sun's impact on Earth's atmosphere, the charged particles and UV radiation emitted by other stars can also influence the composition of the atmospheres of the planets orbiting them. This effect can be particularly profound - and potentially much more severe than on Earth - for exoplanets that are very close to an active host star, such as planets in the habitable zone of M-stars.

Applying our knowledge of ion-chemistry processes in Earth's atmosphere, we investigate this impact for planets differing from our own in orbital parameters and/or atmospheric composition as well as for a variety of different stellar types (from G to M). A particular focus of our studies is placed on determining how potential biosignatures (atmospheric signatures indicative of life) like ozone could be affected by this interaction between star and planetary atmosphere.

For this purpose, we have adapted and generalized an ion-chemistry model originally written for Earth's atmosphere and participate in a joint project with the Technical University of Berlin and the Christian Albrechts University of Kiel.

Comparison of planets in the M-star system Trappist-1 and in the solar system. Artists impression courtesy NASA/JPL-Caltech.

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Der Einfluss stellarer Variabilität auf die Atmosphären von erdähnlichen Exoplaneten

Ähnlich wie in der Erdatmosphäre, können auch in anderen Sternsystemen die vom Zentralstern ausgehenden geladenen Teilchen und die abgestrahlte UV-Strahlung die Zusammensetzung der Atmosphäre der Planeten, die sie umkreisen, beeinflussen. Der Einfluss der stellaren Variabilität kann besonders schwerwiegend sein für Exoplaneten, die einem aktiven Zentralstern sehr nahe kommen: zum Beispiel Planeten in der bewohnbaren Zone von M-Sternen.

Wir wenden unser Wissen über ionenchemische Prozesse in der Erdatmosphäre an und untersuchen diese Auswirkung auf Planeten, die sich von Orbitalparametern und / oder atmosphärischer Zusammensetzung unterscheiden, sowie für eine Vielzahl verschiedener Sterntypen (von G bis M). Ein besonderer Schwerpunkt unserer Studien liegt auf der Bestimmung, wie potentielle Biosignaturen (atmosphärische Signaturen, die ein Indiz für Leben sein können) wie zum Beispiel Ozon durch diese Wechselwirkung zwischen Stern und Planetenatmosphäre beeinflusst werden.

Zu diesem Zweck haben wir ein ursprünglich für die Erdatmosphäre geschriebenes Ionenchemie-Modell adaptiert und verallgemeinert. Den Einfluss von stellarer Variabilität auf erdähnliche Exoplaneten untersuchen wir in einem gemeinsamen Projekt mit der Technischen Universität Berlin und der Christian-Albrechts-Universität zu Kiel.

Comparison of planets in the M-star system Trappist-1 and in the solar system. Artists impression courtesy NASA/JPL-Caltech.