Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research - Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing (IMK-ASF)

Videos - SouthTRAC

For the SouthTRAC airplane measurement campaign, a KIT team and other partners took off for Tierra del Fuego at the end of 2019 and focused on the so far little explored southern atmosphere. The aim: to investigate its effects on climate change. Dr. Björn-Martin Sinnhuber from the Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research - Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing (IMK-ASF) coordinated the second part of the campaign. Here, the scientific focus was on gravity waves at the southern tip of America and over Antarctica. They influence the stability of the stratospheric polar vortex surrounding the ozone hole and play a decisive role in the chemical processes leading to the formation of the Antarctic ozone hole. It was precisely these processes that the Karlsruhe climate researchers investigated in the second campaign phase, which started in November: "We are particularly interested in the air masses that sink from the Antarctic ozone hole, transport climate-relevant trace gases and thus influence the composition of the upper layers of the atmosphere," says Sinnhuber.

 

The research aircraft HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft), which was in operation during the campaign, can fly up to 15 kilometres high and load various measuring instruments, depending on the research requirements. For SouthTRAC the KIT operated three of the 13 instruments on board. Scientists from KIT, the German Aerospace Center (DLR), the Research Center Jülich (FZJ), and the Universities of Frankfurt, Mainz, Wuppertal, and Heidelberg were involved.

The aircraft measurement campaign SouthTRAC led a KIT team with further partners to Argentina at the end of 2019 to investigate the so far little explored southern atmosphere and its effects on climate change. In this video they tell what a day on such a measurement campaign looks like and what exactly the scientists are doing.

GLORIA is the abbreviation for "Gimballed Limb Observer for Radiance Imaging of the Atmosphere". Behind the complicated name is an infrared camera. It breaks down the heat radiation emitted by the atmospheric gases into its spectral colours. This enables these gases and their large-scale movements to be imaged very accurately. GLORIA was jointly developed at Forschungszentrum Jülich and the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology and was used in the SouthTRAC aircraft measurement campaign, among other things. Here the team that worked with GLORIA in this campaign in Argentina is introduced.

Videos - POLSTRACC

On the way on 48000 feet. The expedition with POLSTRACC investigates the connection between climate change and the polar sphere. A KIT camera team accompanied the scientists in Kiruna / Sweden from the planning stage to the flight.

In the POLSTRACC campaign, KIT scientists, among others, investigate the influence of climate change on the polar stratosphere and the tropopause region. For their measurement flights they used the research aircraft HALO - a converted business jet with numerous measurement instruments on board.

Thomas Latzko is a mathematician. At KIT, he is doing his doctorate at the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research. On the POLSTRACC measurement campaign he is responsible for data evaluation of the GLORIA measurement instrument. He talks about his work and the special features of a campaign in the video.

 

For more information on the international coexistence and work at KIT, see issue 1.2106 of the online magazine clicKIT at www.kit.edu/clickit

Other Videos

Digital Earth: Determining the methane release of the North Sea from 4D data sets (08.12.2020)

Digitalisation plays an important role in the sustainable development of our lives. The question of how it can actively drive this forward was addressed at the Digital Summit hosted by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi) at the beginning of December 2020, where KIT scientists and their partners from seven Helmholtz Centres presented the example project "Methane Budget of the North Sea". It is part of the "Digital Earth" project, whose goal is to expand previous concepts of scientific work through data-based methods.

 

More info at https://www.kit.edu/kit/28136.php and https://www.digitalearth-hgf.de/de

 

This film was produced with the support of the BMWi on the occasion of the Digital Summit 2020. Information: https://www.bmwi.de/Redaktion/DE/Artikel/Digitale-Welt/digital-gipfel.html

Better air in China | Corona as an opportunity  (20.10.2020)

Dr Hendrik Andersen's research is close to what moves our society: corona lockdown, air quality, climate change and artificial intelligence. He is working on using machine learning to quantify how air quality has changed in China.

 

Information: https://www.deutsches-klima-konsortium.de/

Effekte im August: Feind Ozonloch und das Klima isst mit (04.08.2020)

The hole in the ozone layer was once widened by the careless use of chlorofluorocarbons. It is not the only challenge in terms of climate change. There is a correlation between the ozone hole and the greenhouse effect, which is particularly visible in Antarctica - as a further element of regional climate change. Climate researcher Prof. Peter Braesicke from the Karlsruhe Institute of Technology will present the developments. By choosing our food in the supermarket we leave an ecological footprint. Anne-Sophie Risse and Joy Mentgen from the Sustainability Laboratory at the University of Education Karlsruhe will show the connection between nutrition and climate change and how we can act in a climate-friendly way when shopping. Exciting scientific topics that affect us all - in an entertaining and understandable way - this year's EFFEKTE series 2020/2021 is all about the motto "Climate, Environment, Sustainability".

 

Information: www.effekte-karlsruhe.de

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke – Ozon(loch) und Klimawandel (03.06.2020)

The ozone hole is a sign of the Anthropocene. The strong seasonal decrease of stratospheric ozone - our UV protective layer - was caused by careless handling of CFCs. However, political decisions were then taken to counteract this - but even today we are still concerned about the ozone hole as a further element of man-made climate change. Lecture by Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke from KIT (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology) for the Public Climate School in the summer semester 2020. The Public Climate School (PCS) is an open university for all people who want to learn more about climate justice. Scientists* from a wide range of disciplines organise exciting lectures, discussions and workshops.

 

https://studentsforfuture.info/public-climate-school/

Vortrag "Klimawandel: was wissen wir sicher?", Walldorf, 29.01.2020 (Teil 1)

Science is observing - understanding - predicting Getting an idea of things you cannot see

Vortrag "Klimawandel: was wissen wir sicher?", Walldorf, 29.01.2020 (Teil 2)

Part 2

Mensch | Macht | Klima" – ITAS-Themenabend technik.kontrovers (30.09.2019)

Whether travelling or shopping, living or leisure activities - almost all activities of our everyday life release greenhouse gases and aggravate the climate crisis. Can we as individuals do something to stop this threat? What would be alternatives to reduce our CO2 footprint? And how could they best be integrated into our daily lives? Scientists discussed these questions with the audience at the theme evening "People | Power | Climate. Climate-friendly everyday life - is that possible?" on Tuesday, 17 September at 6 pm at the Institute of Technology Assessment and Systems Analysis (ITAS). The event provided insights into life cycle analysis. The method allows the environmental impact of individual products to be determined precisely. With its help, we will embark on a journey through our everyday life to find out which everyday activities are associated with which greenhouse gas emissions. The guests also learned more about the project "Dare to protect the climate together! - a project which, together with people in Karlsruhe, designs and implements self-experiments for a climate-friendly everyday life and trains climate coaches as multipliers for civil society commitment in the field of climate protection. The theme evening also provided insights into the regional dimension of climate change and presented a climate protection success story on which to build: The global ban on fluorocarbons and the associated recovery of the ozone layer.

 

More information: https://www.itas.kit.edu/veranstaltungen_2019_technikkontrovers.php

Unsrer Erde wird es zu heiß – aber warum? (07.08.2017)

Lecturer: Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke | Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT), Institute of Meteorology and Climate Research - Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing

 

Lecture recording: KIT | WEBCAST http://webcast.kit.edu

Vom Wetter zum Klima: Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre (Prof. Dr. Johannes Orphal) (01.07.2016)

Prof. Dr. Johannes Orphal, former head of the Institute for Meteorology and Climate Research, Atmospheric Trace Gases and Remote Sensing at the KIT, talks in his lecture "From Weather to Climate: Remote Sensing of the Atmosphere" about the importance of the atmosphere and explains why it is important to study it. He also deals with aspects of climate change and weather observations from space and ventures a look into the future. The event "KIT im Rathaus" coordinated by ZAK | Center for Applied Cultural Studies and Studium Generale took place on 22 June 2016.

 

More information: www.zak.kit.edu/5032.php

Kinderuni: Was ist in der Atmosphäre los? (06.09.2010)

For the fourth lecture of the KIT Children's University 2010, the young researchers drove to the Research Center to learn more about lightning, air, and clouds. They eagerly followed the German-French lecture of the atmospheric researcher.

COMMITMENT FOR CLIMATE RESEARCH - Flying measuring laboratory has already circumnavigated the earth 85 times

Lufthansa Airbus has been collecting extensive data for the European research project CARIBIC for 15 years. 120 research institutes worldwide use the data collected at cruising altitude.

 

https://www.lufthansagroup.com/de/themen/engagement-fuer-die-klimaforschung.html

Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung - Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung (IMK-ASF)

Videos - SouthTRAC

Für die Flugzeugmesskampagne SouthTRAC startete ein Team des KIT mit weiteren Partnern Ende 2019 nach Feuerland und nahm die bisher wenig erforschte südliche Atmosphäre ins Visier. Ziel: ihre Auswirkungen auf den Klimawandel erforschen. Dr. Björn-Martin Sinnhuber vom Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung (IMK-ASF) koordinierte den zweiten Teil Kampagne. Hier standen Schwerewellen an der Südspitze Amerikas sowie über der Antarktis im wissenschaftlichen Fokus. Sie beeinflussen die Stabilität des stratosphärischen Polarwirbels, der das Ozonloch umschließt, und spielen eine entscheidende Rolle bei den chemischen Prozessen, die zur Bildung des antarktischen Ozonlochs führen. Eben diese Prozesse untersuchten die Karlsruher Klimaforscher in der zweiten Kampagnenphase, die im November startete: „Uns interessieren vor allem die Luftmassen, die aus dem antarktischen Ozonloch absinken, klimarelevante Spurengase transportieren und so die Zusammensetzung der oberen Schichten der Atmosphäre beeinflussen“, so Sinnhuber.

 

Das Forschungsflugzeug HALO (High Altitude and Long Range Research Aircraft), das in der Kampagne im Einsatz war, kann bis zu 15 Kilometer hoch fliegen und verschiedene Messgeräte laden, je nach Forschungsbedarf. Für SouthTRAC betrieb das KIT drei der insgesamt 13 Instrumente an Bord. Beteiligt waren Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler des KIT, des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft und Raumfahrt (DLR), des Forschungszentrums Jülich (FZJ) sowie der Universitäten Frankfurt, Mainz, Wuppertal und Heidelberg.

Die Flugzeugmesskampagne SouthTRAC führte ein Team des KIT mit weiteren Partnern Ende 2019 nach Argentinien, um dort die bisher wenig erforschte südliche Atmosphäre und ihre Auswirkungen auf den Klimawandel zu untersuchen. Wie ein Tag auf einer solchen Messkampagne aussieht, was genau die Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler dabei tun, erzählen sie in diesem Video.

GLORIA ist die Abkürzung für „Gimballed Limb Observer for Radiance Imaging of the Atmosphere“. Hinter dem komplizierten Namen verbirgt sich eine Infrarot-Kamera. Sie zerlegt die von den atmosphärischen Gasen ausgesandte Wärmestrahlung in ihre Spektralfarben. Dadurch können diese Gase und ihre großräumigen Bewegungen sehr genau abgebildet werden. GLORIA wurde am Forschungszentrum Jülich und dem Karlsruher Institut für Technologie gemeinsam entwickelt und kam unter anderem in der Flugzeugmesskampagne SouthTRAC zum Einsatz. Hier stellt sich das Team vor, das bei dieser Kampagne in Argentinien mit GLORIA arbeitete.

Videos - POLSTRACC

Unterwegs auf 48000 Fuß. Die Expedition mit POLSTRACC untersucht den Zusammenhang von Klimawandel und polarer Sphäre. Von der Planung bis zum Flug begleitete ein Kamerateam des KIT die Wissenschaftler in Kiruna / Schweden.

In der Kampagne POLSTRACC erforschen Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler unter anderem des KIT den Einfluss des Klimawandels auf die polare Stratosphäre und die Tropopausenregion. Für ihre Messflüge setzten sie das Forschungsflugzeug HALO ein - einen umgebauten Business Jet mit zahlreichen Messinstrumenten an Bord.

Thomas Latzke ist Mathematiker. Am KIT promoviert er am Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung. Auf der Messkampagne POLSTRACC ist er für die Datenauswertung des Messinstruments GLORIA zuständig. Über seine Arbeit und die Besonderheiten einer Kampagne spricht er im Video.

 

Mehr zu dem internationalen Zusammenleben und -arbeiten am KIT in der Ausgabe 1.2106 des Onlinemagazins clicKIT unter www.kit.edu/clickit

Weitere Videos

Effekte im August: Feind Ozonloch und das Klima isst mit (04.08.2020)

Das Ozonloch wurde einst durch den sorglosen Umgang mit Fluorchlorkohlenwasserstoffen vergrößert. Es ist nicht die einzige Herausforderung mit Blick auf den Klimawandel. Zwischen Ozonloch und Treibhauseffekt gibt es eine Wechselbeziehung, die vor allem in der Antarktis sichtbar wird – als weiteres Element des regionalen Klimawandels. Der Klimaforscher Prof. Peter Braesicke vom Karlsruher Institut für Technologie stellt die Entwicklungen vor. Mit der Auswahl unserer Lebensmittel im Supermarkt hinterlassen wir einen ökologischen Fußabdruck. Den Zusammenhang zwischen Ernährung und Klimawandel und wie wir beim Einkaufen möglichst klimafreundlich agieren, zeigen Anne-Sophie Risse und Joy Mentgen vom Nachhaltigkeitslabor der Pädagogischen Hochschule Karlsruhe. Spannende wissenschaftliche Themen, die uns alle betreffen – unterhaltsam und verständlich – bei der diesjährigen EFFEKTE-Reihe 2020/2021dreht sich alles rund um das Motto "Klima, Umwelt, Nachhaltigkeit".

 

Infos: www.effekte-karlsruhe.de

Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke – Ozon(loch) und Klimawandel (03.06.2020)

Das Ozonloch ist ein Zeichen des Anthropozäns. Die starke saisonale Abnahme des stratosphärischen Ozons – unserer UV Schutzschicht – wurde durch sorglosen Umgang mit FCKWs verursacht. Allerdings wurde hier dann durch politische Entscheidungen gegengesteuert – aber noch heute beschäftigt uns das Ozonloch, als ein weiteres Element des menschgemachten Klimawandels. Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke vom KIT (Karlsruher Institut für Technologie) für die Public Climate School im Sommersemester 2020. Die Public Climate School (PCS) ist eine offene Hochschule für alle Menschen, die mehr zum Thema Klimagerechtigkeit lernen möchten. Wissenschaftler*innen aus verschiedensten Fachbereichen veranstalten spannende Vorträge, Diskussionen und Workshops.

 

https://studentsforfuture.info/public-climate-school/

Vortrag "Klimawandel: was wissen wir sicher?", Walldorf, 29.01.2020 (Teil 1)

Wissenschaft ist Beobachten - Verstehen - Vorhersagen Sich ein Bild machen von Dingen, die man nicht sehen kann

Vortrag "Klimawandel: was wissen wir sicher?", Walldorf, 29.01.2020 (Teil 2)

Teil 2 und Schluss

Mensch | Macht | Klima" – ITAS-Themenabend technik.kontrovers (30.09.2019)

Egal ob beim Reisen oder Einkaufen, beim Wohnen oder in der Freizeit – fast alle Aktivitäten unseres Alltags setzen Treibhausgase frei und verschärfen die Klimakrise. Können wir als Individuen etwas dafür tun, diese Bedrohung aufzuhalten? Was wären Alternativen, um unseren CO2-Fußabdruck zu verringern? Und wie ließen sie sich am Besten in unseren Alltag integrieren? Über diese Fragen diskutierten Wissenschaftlerinnen und Wissenschaftler mit dem Publikum beim Themenabend „Mensch | Macht | Klima. Klimaschonender Alltag – geht das?“ am Dienstag, den 17. September um 18 Uhr im Institut für Technikfolgenabschätzung und Systemanalyse (ITAS). Die Veranstaltung gab Einblicke in die Lebenszyklusanalyse. Die Methode erlaubt es, Umweltauswirkungen einzelner Produkte genau zu bestimmen. Mit ihrer Hilfe begeben wir uns auf eine Reise durch unseren Alltag, um zu erfahren, welche Alltagsaktivitäten mit welchen Treibhausgasemissionen verbunden sind. Die Gäste erfuhren zudem mehr über das Projekt „Klimaschutz gemeinsam wagen!“ – ein Vorhaben, das gemeinsam mit Menschen in Karlsruhe Selbstexperimente für einen klimaschonenden Alltag entwirft und umsetzt, sowie Klimacoaches als Multiplikatoren für zivilgesellschaftliches Engagement im Bereich Klimaschutz ausbildet. Der Themenabend vermittelte darüber hinaus Einblicke in die regionale Dimension des Klimawandels und präsentiert eine Erfolgsgeschichte des Klimaschutzes, auf die sich aufbauen lässt: Das weltweite Verbot von Fluorkohlenwasserstoffen und die damit verbundene Erholung der Ozonschicht.

 

Weitere Informationen finden Sie unter: https://www.itas.kit.edu/veranstaltungen_2019_technikkontrovers.php

Unsrer Erde wird es zu heiß – aber warum? (07.08.2017)

Dozent: Prof. Dr. Peter Braesicke | Karlsruher Institut für Technologie (KIT), Institut für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung – Atmospärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung

 

Vorlesungsaufzeichnung: KIT | WEBCAST http://webcast.kit.edu

Vom Wetter zum Klima: Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre (Prof. Dr. Johannes Orphal) (01.07.2016)

Prof. Dr. Johannes Orphal, Leiter des Instituts für Meteorologie und Klimaforschung, Atmosphärische Spurengase und Fernerkundung am KIT, spricht in seinem Vortrag "Vom Wetter zum Klima: Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre" über die Bedeutung der Atmosphäre und verdeutlicht, weshalb es wichtig ist diese zu erforschen. Er geht zudem auf Aspekte des Klimawandels und Wetterbeobachtungen aus dem All ein und wagt einen Blick in die Zukunft. Die vom ZAK | Zentrum für Angewandte Kulturwissenschaft und Studium Generale koordinierte Veranstaltung "KIT im Rathaus" fand am 22. Juni 2016 statt.

 

Weitere Informationen: www.zak.kit.edu/5032.php

Kinderuni: Was ist in der Atmosphäre los? (06.09.2010)

Zur vierten Vorlesung der KIT Kinder-Uni 2010 fuhren die kleinen Forscherinnen und Forscher zum Forschungszentrum um mehr über Blitze, Luft und Wolken zu erfahren. Gespannt folgten sie der deutsch-französische Vorlesung des Atmosphärenforschers.

ENGAGEMENT FÜR DIE KLIMAFORSCHUNG - Fliegendes Messlabor hat schon 85-mal die Erde umrundet

 

Lufthansa Airbus sammelt seit 15 Jahren umfangreiche Daten für das europäische Forschungsprojekt CARIBIC Weltweit 120 Forschungsinstitute nutzen die in Reiseflughöhe gesammelten Daten.

 

https://www.lufthansagroup.com/de/themen/engagement-fuer-die-klimaforschung.html