Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT
MOD
Recent Publications

30.10.2018:
Woiwode, W., Dörnbrack, A., Bramberger, M., Friedl-Vallon, F., Haenel, F., Höpfner, M., Johansson, S., Kretschmer, E., Krisch, I., Latzko, T., Oelhaf, H., Orphal, J., Preusse, P., Sinnhuber, B.-M., and Ungermann, J.: Mesoscale fine structure of a tropopause fold over mountains, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 18, 15643-15667, https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-18-15643-2018, 2018.

05.10.2018:
Schröter, J., Rieger, D., Stassen, C., Vogel, H., Weimer, M., Werchner, S., Förstner, J., Prill, F., Reinert, D., Zängl, G., Giorgetta, M., Ruhnke, R., Vogel, B., and Braesicke, P.: ICON-ART 2.1: a flexible tracer framework and its application for composition studies in numerical weather forecasting and climate simulations, Geosci. Model Dev., 11, 4043-4068, https://doi.org/10.5194/gmd-11-4043-2018, 2018.

02.05.2018:
Krause, J., Hoor, P., Engel, A., Plöger, F., Grooß, J.-U., Bönisch, H., Keber, T., Sinnhuber, B.-M., Woiwode, W., and Oelhaf, H.: Mixing and ageing in the polar lower stratosphere in winter 2015–2016, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 18, 6057-6073, https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-18-6057-2018, 2018.

Welcome to the Homepage of the Global Modelling Group (MOD)

The Earth's atmosphere and hence the climate is influenced by natural and anthropogenic processes. As the atmosphere is a complex system determined by dynamical, radiative and chemical processes it is necessary to understand these processes in detail in order to make a reliable prediction of the future development of the atmosphere. Beside measurements computer simulations of atmospheric processes are a prerequisite to understand the behaviour of the atmosphere.

To contribute to the improvement in the understanding of the processes in the atmosphere the Global Modelling Group (MOD) is performing global simulations being used in the interpretation of the measurements obtained by the other groups of the IMK-ASF but also by other partners. In particular our group is interested in the processes controlling the ozone budget in the upper troposphere and stratosphere as these altitude regions and also ozone itself plays a important role in controlling the climate. 

The main scientific objectives of our group are

  • to better understand the long-term behaviour of the stratosphere with respect to the dynamics (age of air) and also to the time development of ozone depleting substances and radiatively important species as O3 and water vapour
  • to better quantify the budgets of nitrogen (NOy), chlorine (Cly) and hydrogen (HOx) containing species in the stratosphere with respect to the relative importance of transport and chemistry and their possible connection to climate change (e.g. due to denitrification)
  • to investigate the solar influence on the composition of the middle atmosphere
  • to better understand the exchange of trace gases between stratosphere and troposphere (STE)

To achieve these objectives our group is involved in several national and international projects (see Projects) and makes use and participates in the development of global simulation models (see Models).

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT
MOD
Aktuelle Veröffentlichungen

01.11.2017:
Khosrawi, F., Kirner, O., Sinnhuber, B.-M., Johansson, S., Höpfner, M., Santee, M. L., Froidevaux, L., Ungermann, J., Ruhnke, R., Woiwode, W., Oelhaf, H., and Braesicke, P.: Denitrification, dehydration and ozone loss during the 2015/2016 Arctic winter, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 17, 12893-12910, https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-17-12893-2017, 2017.

25.09.2017:
Falk, S., Sinnhuber, B.-M., Krysztofiak, G., Jöckel, P., Graf, P., and Lennartz, S. T.: Brominated VSLS and their influence on ozone under a changing climate, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 17, 11313-11329, https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-17-11313-2017, 2017.

21.09.2017:
Stiller, G. P., Fierli, F., Ploeger, F., Cagnazzo, C., Funke, B., Haenel, F. J., Reddmann, T., Riese, M., and von Clarmann, T.: Shift of subtropical transport barriers explains observed hemispheric asymmetry of decadal trends of age of air, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 17, 11177-11192, https://doi.org/10.5194/acp-17-11177-2017, 2017.

29.07.2017:
Weimer, M., Schröter, J., Eckstein, J., Deetz, K., Neumaier, M., Fischbeck, G., Hu, L., Millet, D. B., Rieger, D., Vogel, H., Vogel, B., Reddmann, T., Kirner, O., Ruhnke, R., and Braesicke, P.: An emission module for ICON-ART 2.0: implementation and simulations of acetone, Geosci. Model Dev., 10, 2471-2494, https://doi.org/10.5194/gmd-10-2471-2017, 2017.

Willkommen auf der Homepage der Gruppe Globale Modellierung (MOD)

Die Erdatmosphäre und somit auch das Klima werden durch eine Vielzahl von natürlichen und anthropogenen Prozessen beeinflusst. Da die Atmosphäre ein komplexes System darstellt, das durch dynamische, chemische und strahlungsbedingte Prozesse verändert wird, ist es wichtig, diese zugrunde liegenden Prozesse im Detail zu verstehen, um eine zuverlässigere Vorhersage der zukünftigen Entwicklung der Atmosphäre machen zu können. Neben Messungen sind dabei Computersimulationen der atmospherischen Prozesse in der Forschung eine der wesentlichen Säulen in der Untersuchung des Zustandes und der Verhaltens der Atmosphäre.

Um das Verständnis der atmosphärischen Prozesse zu verbessern, nutzt die Gruppe globale Modelle, die zur Interpretation von Messungen der Gruppen des IMK-ASF sowie von anderen Projektpartnern herangezogen werden. Das besondere wissenschaftliche Interesse der Gruppe gilt dabei den Prozessen, die das stratosphärische Ozonbudget von der oberen Troposphäre bis in die Mesosphäre kontrollieren, da diese Höhenregionen sowie das Ozon selber eine bedeutende Rolle im Klimasystem spielen.

Die wesentlichen wissenschaftliche Ziele der Gruppe sind

  • das verbesserte Verständnis der langfristigen Entwicklung der Stratosphäre in Bezug auf die Dynamik (über Untersuchungen des Alters der Luft) sowie der zeitlichen Entwicklung von ozonzerstörenden Substanzen sowie der klimarelevanten Spurengase Ozon und Wasserdampf
  • die bessere Quantifizierung der Budgets der Stickstoff- (NOy), Chlor- (Cly), Brom- (Bry) und Wasserstoff- (HOx) enthaltenden Spurenstofffamilien und der relativen Bedeutung von Chemie und Transport auf diese Budgets sowie deren möglicher Veränderung in einem sich ändernden Klima (z.B. über die Denitrifizierung)
  • die Verbesserung des Verständnisses des solaren Einflusses und seiner Variabilität auf die Dynamik und Chemie der mittleren Atmosphäre
  • das bessere Verständnis bzgl. des Austausches von Spurengasen zwischen der Stratosphäre und Troposphäre

Um diese Ziele zu erreichen, ist die Gruppe Globale Modellierung an nationalen und internationalen Projekten beteiligt (siehe Projekte) und entwickelt die benutzten globalen Simulationsmodelle stetig weiter (siehe Modelle).