Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Multi-platform remote sensing of water isotopologues

We optimise and perform remote sensing retrievals using ground-based high resolution FTIR (Fourier Transform InfraRed) spectrometers and the IASI (Infrared Atmospheric Sounding Interferometer) instruments aboard the satellites MetOp, and we document in great detail the representativeness and the uncertainty of these remote sensing data products. Our focus is the generation and characterisation of tropospheric water vapour isotopologue remote sensing data and their application for tropospheric moisture transport pathway studies. More details on our research fields are given here.

 

 

The importance of remote sensing data characterisation

A comprehensive understanding of the remote sensing data characteristics (representativeness and uncertainty) is of fundamental importance in particular, if we work with data that have a complex nature, like the ratios of the H216O and HD16O isotopologues (typically expressed as δD = {[HD16O]/[H216O]}/VSMOW – 1; where VSMOW means Vienna Standard Mean Ocean Water).

The attached Figure illustrates an example of {H2O,δD} pair distributions, which are useful proxies for investigating different moisture transport pathways. The top panels show model data (raw model data output), the middle panels show model data that have the characteristics of the MUSICA MetOp/IASI remote sensing data assimilated and the bottom panels show MUSICA MetOp/IASI remote sensing data. Comparing the raw model data with the remote sensing data (i.e. comparing the top panels with the bottom panels) reveals very large differences. However, this is a comparison of data with very different characteristics and the observed differences are not meaningful. A comparison between model and remote sensing data is only meaningful if we understand the remote sensing data characteristics and assimilate it to the model data. In this context we have to compare the middle and the bottom panels and the observed differences allow meaningful conclusions and can contribute to further model improvements.

 

 

 

Example of using satellite-based remote sensing {H2O,δD} pair distributions for evaluating the moisture transport in an atmospheric model: The contour lines represent areas with highest {H2O,δD} pair data densities for different latitudinal belts and seasons in the free troposphere over the central Pacific (140°E-140°W) as seen by ECHAM5-wiso model simulations and in the MetOp/IASI retrieval data. From the top to the bottom: distributions obtained from ECHAM5-wiso simulations, from ECHAM5-wiso simulations after passing through the retrieval simulator and from the MetOp/IASI retrievals, respectively. Left panels for mid-February and right panels for mid-August. The different colours represent the different latitudinal belts as given in the legend. The black dashed lines represent Rayleigh curves for three different initialisations: {T = 10°C; RH = 60%; δD = -89‰}, {T = 20°C; RH = 80%; δD = -78‰} and {T = 30°C; RH = 100%; δD = -69‰}. The yellow star marks the a priori value used for the remote sensing retrievals. More details are given in Schneider et al. (2017).

Home | english  | Impressum | Sitemap | KIT

Fernerkundung von Wasserisotopologen von verschiedenen Platformen

Wir nutzen hochaufgelöste bodengebundene FTIR (Fourier Transform InfraRed) Spektrometer und IASI (Infrared Atmospheric Sounding Interferometer) Instrumente an Bord des MetOp Satelliten zur Fernerkundung der Atmosphäre, und wir dokumentieren die Eigenschaften der Fernerkundungsdaten auf detaillierte Weise. Unser Forschungsschwerpunkt ist dabei das Erzeugen und Charakterisieren von Fernerkundungsdaten troposphärischer Wasserdampfisotopologe und deren Anwendung zur Untersuchung des Feuchtetransports in der Troposphäre. Weitere Details zu unseren Forschungsgebieten gibt es hier (englische Seiten).

 

 

Die Bedeutung der Charakterisierung von Fernerkundungsdaten

Ein umfassendes Verständnis der Eigenschaften von Fernerkundungsdaten ist besonders wichtig, wenn es sich um komplizierte Datenprodukte handelt. Ein Beispiel ist das Verhältnis der beiden Isotopologe H216O und HD16O (typischerweise ausgedrückt als δD = {[HD16O]/[H216O]}/VSMOW – 1; mit VSMOW als Vienna Standard Mean Ocean Water).

Die beigefügte Abbildung zeigt ein Beispiel für Verteilungen von {H2O,δD} Paaren, welche sehr nützlich sind für die Untersuchung verschiedener Feuchtetransportwege. Die Graphiken in der oberen Reihe zeigen Modelldaten (direkte Modellausgabe), die Graphiken in der mittleren Reihe zeigen Modelldaten, nachdem sie an die Eigenschaften der MUSICA MetOp/IASI Fernerkundungsdaten angepasst wurden, und die Graphiken in der unteren Reihe zeigen die MUSICA MetOp/IASI Fernerkundungsdaten. Ein Vergleich der direkten Modellausgabewerte mit den Fernerkundungsdaten (d.h. ein Vergleich von den Graphiken der oberen und unteren Reihe) zeigt sehr große Unterschiede. Jedoch ist dieser Vergleich nicht aussagekräftig, da Daten mit deutlich verschiedenen Eigenschaften verglichen werden. Ein Vergleich zwischen Modell- und Fernerkundungsdaten ist nur sinnvoll, wenn die Eigenschaften der Fernerkundungsdaten verstanden sind, und die Modelldaten entsprechend angepasst werden. Somit können nur die Graphiken der mittleren und unteren Reihen sinnvoll miteinander verglichen werden. Die darin beobachteten Unterschiede können nun dazu beitragen, die Modellrechnungen weiter zu verbessern.

 

 

 

Beispiel für die Verwendung satellitengestützter Fernerkundungsdaten von {H2O,δD} Paaren zur Verifizierung des Feuchtetransports in dem atmosphärischen Modell ECHAM5-wiso: Konturlinien für Bereiche mit der höchsten Dichte an {H2O,δD} Paaren für verschiedene Breitenbereiche und Jahreszeiten in der freien Troposphäre über dem Pazifischen Ozean (140°O-140°W) und für Simulationen des Modells ECHAM5-wiso und für MetOp/IASI Fernerkundungsdaten. Oben: Verteilungen erhalten aus den ECHAM5-wiso Daten (direkte Modellausgabe); Mitte: Verteilung erhalten aus den ECHAM5-wiso Daten nach Anpassung an die Eigenschaften der MetOp/IASI Fernerkundungsdaten; Unten: Verteilung erhalten aus den MetOp/IASI Fernerkundungsdaten. Links: Mitte Februar 2014; Rechts: Mitte August 2014. Die verschiedenen Farben unterscheiden die verschiedene Breitenbereiche (siehe Legende). Die schwarz gestrichelten Linien sind Rayleigh Linien für drei verschiedene Startbedingungen: {T = 10°C; RH = 60%; δD = -89‰}, {T = 20°C; RH = 80%; δD = -78‰} and {T = 30°C; RH = 100%; δD = -69‰}. Der gelbe Stern markiert die für die Fernerkundungsdatenanalyse verwendeten a-priori Werte. Eine detaillierte Diskussion ist in Schneider et al. (2017) zu finden.        

Weitere Informationen gibt es auf der englischen Seite.