Home | deutsch  | Legals | Data Protection | Sitemap | KIT

Models for the middle atmosphere

EMAC/EDITh

EMAC (ECHAM5 MESSy Atmospheric Chemistry) is a threedimensional chemistry climate model. It consists of the dynamical core ECHAM5 and the Modular Earth Submodel System (MESSy). This model simulates the physics and chemistry of the atmosphere from surface up to about 80 km. Our group uses this model to investigate the influence of solar particles on the state of the atmosphere. Since these also have a strong impact on the atmosphere above, we also work on a vertical extension of the model up to about 180 km altitude.We plan to increase the upper limit to higher altitudes (~400 km). Therefore, several important processes have been implemented, e.g. molecular and turbulent diffusion, ion drag, radiative cooling due to NO, and airglow. To simulate the particle influence in the thermosphere, we have included a parameterisation based on UBIC/3dCTM-results (Nieder et al., 2014).

 

Airglow of OH 3-1 of EMAC during the Warming 2009 NOx of EMAC during the Warming 2009
EMAC results of the warming 2009 for OH Airglow 3-1 (left) and NOx (right).

 

 

Ion chemistry model UBIC

 

The University of Bremen Ion Chemistry model (UBIC) is a tool to compute the production and loss rates of neutral species by ion chemistry reactions. The model is driven by the ion pair production rates due to particle precipitation, and requires an initial neutral atmosphere as input. It then solves a system of differential equations for both neutral and ionic reactants numerically. The routine of UBIC is based on the fact that ion chemical reactions are extremely fast, and photochemical equilibrium is reached after a comparably short time for the ionic constituents. Hence, UBIC can be called by a superordinate model of the neutral atmosphere, computing a photochemical equilibrium of the ionic constituents, considering the initial atmosphere and the forcing at the starting time. It is assumed that forcing and neutral atmospheric composition do not change significantly while the ion reactions are simulated. UBIC returns formation and loss rates for the neutral species such as NOx (N, NO, NO2) which participate in ionic reactions. These results are then used in the superordinate model of the neutral atmosphere.

UBIC was developed at the Institute of Environmental Physics, University of Bremen, in the research group of M. Sinnhuber, in the framework of the German priority programmes "geomagnetic activity" and CAWSES.

 

UBIC Rateplot

Production rate of NOx in 1/Ionpair as computed with the ion chemistry model UBIC for the solar proton event of October 2003.

 

Winkler, H., Kazeminejad, S., Sinnhuber, M., Kallenrode, M.-B., and Notholt, J., The conversion of mesospheric HCl into active chlorine during the solar proton event in July 2000 in the northern polar region, J. Geophys. Res., 114, D00I03, 2009

M. Sinnhuber, H. Nieder, N. Wieters, Energetic particle precipitation and the chemistry of the mesosphere / lower thermosphere, In: Crucial Processes Acting in the Mesosphere / Lower Thermosphere, editors E. Becker / M. Rycroft, Surveys in Geophysics 33, doi:10.1007/s10712-012-9201-3, 2012

 

 

Three-dimensional chemistry transport model (3dCTM)

The 3dCTM is a three-dimensional chemistry-tranpsort model that was developed at the University of Bremen and is further developed at KIT. The model computes chemical reactions and transport processes in the atmosphere, at an altitude range from the tropopause up to the lower thermosphere (about 10 to 150 km altitude). Mass fluxes are prescribed using LIMA data or ECMWF data, while the chemical reactions are driven by their rate constants and computed in numerical integration. Furthermore, the 3dCTM has capability to compute formation of polar stratospheric clouds (PSCs) and stratospheric aerosols.

The model is able to include anthropogenic emissions by setting up tropospheric mixing ratios of tracers; the transport across the tropopause is computed using the prescribed fluxes. The production of odd nitrogen in the higher model levels is computed using AIMOS ionization rates and parameterized effective production rates, depending on the atmospheric state.

 

NOx from 3dCTM

Volume mixing ration of NOx as computed by the 3dCTM. The values are shown for a fixed longitude of 180 degrees, revealing the variation with latitude and altitude.

Sinnhuber, M., Berger, U.; Funke, B.; Nieder, H.; Reddmann, T.; Stiller, G.; Versick, S.; Clarmann, T. von; Wissing, J. M., NOy production, ozone loss and changes in net radiative heating due to energetic particle precipitation in 2002-2010, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 18, 1115-1147, 2018.

Winkler, H., Sinnhuber, M., Notholt, J., Kallenrode, M.-B., Steinhilber, F., Vogt, J. Zieger, B., Glassmeier, K.-H., and Stadelmann, A., Modelling Impacts of Geomagnetic Field Variations on Middle Atmospheric Ozone Responses to Solar Proton Events on Long Time Scales, J. Geophys. Res., 113, D02302, doi:10.1029/2007JD008574, 2008

Home | english  | Impressum | Datenschutz | Sitemap | KIT

Modelle für die mittlere Atmosphäre

EMAC-Edith

EMAC (ECHAM5 MESSy Atmospheric Chemistry) ist ein dreidimensionales Chemieklimamodell. Es besteht aus dem dynamischen Kern ECHAM5 und dem Modular Earth Submodel System (MESSy). Dieses Modellsystem simuliert die Physik und Chemie der Atmosphäre vom Erdboden bis in etwa 80 km. Innerhalb unserer Gruppe wird das vorhandene Modell genutzt, um den Einfluss von solaren Teilchen auf den Zustand der Atmosphäre zu untersuchen. Da diese auch einen großen Einfluss auf Höhen oberhalb von 80 km haben, arbeitet unsere Arbeitsgruppe ebenfalls an der vertikalen Erweiterung des Modells bis in etwa 180 km Höhe. In Zukunft soll das Modell in größere Höhen (~400 km) erweitert werden. Hierfür werden fehlende wichtige Prozesse in das neue Submodul EDITh implementiert. Hierzu zählen zum Beispiel molekulare und turbulente Diffusion, Ionenwiederstand, Strahlungskühlen von NO oder auch Airglow. Um den Teilcheneinfluss auch in der Thermosphäre simulieren zu können wurde das Modell um eine Parametrisierung (Nieder et al., 2014) basierend auf UBIC/3dCTM-Ergebnissen erweitert.

 

Airglow von OH 3-1 von EMAC während des Warmings 2009 NOx aus EMAC während des Warmings 2009

Ergebnisse des Modells EMAC während des Warmings 2009 für OH Airglow 3-1 und NOx.

 

 

Das Ionenchemiemodell UBIC

 

Das Ionenchemiemodell der Universität Bremen (UBIC) ermöglicht die Berechnung von Produktions- und Verlustraten von neutralen Stoffen wie beispielsweise NOx (N, NO, NO2) durch ionische Reaktionen in einer ionisierten Atmosphäre. Angetrieben werden die Reaktionen von der Ionenpaarproduktion durch Teilcheneinflüsse. Das Modell wird mit der ursprünglichen, nicht ionisierten Atmosphäre und der Ionisationsrate initialisiert und löst ein System gekoppelter Differentialgleichungen für die Reaktanten durch numerische Näherung. Die UBIC-Berechnung berücksichtigt die Tatsache, dass Ionen sehr schnell reagieren und schon nach kurzer Zeit ein photochemisches Gleichgewicht für die Ionen erreicht wird. UBIC kann also von einem übergeordneten Modell für neutrale Chemie aufgerufen werden und Ionen erzeugen und ins Gleichgewicht bringen. Dabei kann davon ausgegangen werden, dass sich Ionisationsrate und Zusammensetzung der neutralen Atmosphäre während der Ionenreaktionen nicht wesentlich ändern. UBIC liefert dann die Bildungs- bzw. Verlustraten für die neutralen Stoffe wie NOx, die an Reaktionen mit Ionen beteiligt sind. Diese Ergebnisse werden dem übergeordneten Modell übergeben, womit beispielsweise die Untersuchung der Einflüsse von Teilchenereignissen in der MLT-Region ermöglicht wird.

UBIC wurde am Institut für Umweltphysik der Universität Bremen in der Forschungsgruppe von Miriam Sinnhuber, im Rahmen des deutschen Schwerpunktprojektes CAWSES entwickelt.

 

UBIC Ratenplot

Mit dem Ionenchemiemodell UBIC berechnete Produktionsrate von NOx in 1/Ionenpaar für das solare Protonenereignis vom 28. Oktober 2003.

 

Winkler, H., Kazeminejad, S., Sinnhuber, M., Kallenrode, M.-B., and Notholt, J., The conversion of mesospheric HCl into active chlorine during the solar proton event in July 2000 in the northern polar region, J. Geophys. Res., 114, D00I03, 2009

M. Sinnhuber, H. Nieder, N. Wieters, Energetic particle precipitation and the chemistry of the mesosphere / lower thermosphere, In: Crucial Processes Acting in the Mesosphere / Lower Thermosphere, editors E. Becker / M. Rycroft, Surveys in Geophysics 33, doi:10.1007/s10712-012-9201-3, 2012

 

 

Dreidimensionales Chemietransportmodell (3dCTM)

Das 3dCTM ist ein dreidimensionales Chemietransportmodell, dessen Entwicklung an der Universität Bremen begonnen wurde und das am KIT weiterentwickelt wird. Das Modell berechnet chemische Reaktionen und Transportvorgänge in der Atmosphäre in einem Höhenbereich von der Tropopause bis in die untere Thermosphäre (etwa 10 bis 150 km Höhe). Massenflüsse werden dem Modell aus LIMA-Daten oder ECMWF-Daten vorgegeben, die chemischen Reaktionen sind allein durch die jeweiligen Reaktionskonstanten bestimmt. Das 3dCTM berücksichtigt die Berechnung der Bildung von polaren Stratosphärenwolken (PSCs) und von stratosphärischen Aerosolen.

In das Modell können anthropogene Emissionen aufgenommen werden, indem das troposphärische Mischungsverhältnis vorgegeben wird; der Transport über die Tropopause in die untersten Höhenlevel des Modells erfolgt über die vorgegebenen Windfelder. Die Produktion von Stickstoffoxiden in den höheren Modellschichten wird durch AIMOS-Ionisationsraten und effektive Produktionsraten, abhängig vom Zustand der Atmosphäre, vorgegeben.

 

NOxplot

Volumenmischungsverhältnis von NOx aus einer Berechnung des 3dCTM. Gezeigt sind die Werte am 180. Längengrad als Funktion von Breite und Höhe.

Sinnhuber, M., Berger, U.; Funke, B.; Nieder, H.; Reddmann, T.; Stiller, G.; Versick, S.; Clarmann, T. von; Wissing, J. M., NOy production, ozone loss and changes in net radiative heating due to energetic particle precipitation in 2002-2010, Atmos. Chem. Phys., 18, 1115-1147, 2018.

Winkler, H., Sinnhuber, M., Notholt, J., Kallenrode, M.-B., Steinhilber, F., Vogt, J. Zieger, B., Glassmeier, K.-H., and Stadelmann, A., Modelling Impacts of Geomagnetic Field Variations on Middle Atmospheric Ozone Responses to Solar Proton Events on Long Time Scales, J. Geophys. Res., 113, D02302, doi:10.1029/2007JD008574, 2008